Stick & Signal.

Streaming Sticks & Boxes

Roku vs Apple TV: Which Should You Buy?

Both show the same apps at the same resolution. One costs under fifty dollars and one costs several times that — so the only honest question is what the difference actually buys you.

By Stephen V.Updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

Buy the Roku Streaming Stick 4K. It shows the same Netflix, the same Max, the same free ad-supported channels and the same 4K HDR picture as the Apple TV 4K, on a platform that charges you nothing monthly, for a fraction of the money. For someone who has just canceled cable and is counting what the replacement costs, that is the whole argument.

Buy the Apple TV 4K instead ifone of three things is true: your household runs on iPhones and you want AirPlay and HomeKit to work without thinking about it; you need an Ethernet port and you would rather have Apple’s box than Roku’s; or you specifically want a home screen that is not selling you anything, because Apple does not run a video storefront across the top of it the way Amazon does.

What does notseparate them: app availability, picture quality, or whether you pay a platform fee. Both reach every mainstream service, both do 4K with HDR, and neither charges a cent to exist. Apple TV+ and Roku’s free channel are both optional and neither is required to use the hardware.

One practical note before the table. Apple sells this box directly and Amazon stocks it intermittently — when we resolved the listing on October 13, 2026, Amazon reported the 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet model as currently unavailable and published no price. So the Apple row below shows “Check price on Amazon” rather than a number. That is deliberate: we would rather show you nothing than a figure we cannot stand behind today.

The picks at a glance

Ranked on how well each one fits the job, what it costs you every month, and how much work the install really is. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSetupPrice
1
Roku Streaming Stick 4K

Roku Streaming Stick 4K

Our overall pick. It adds Dolby Vision to the Plus for a small step up in price, and it keeps the thing that actually matters on a cord-cut TV: a neutral app grid, a remote anyone in the house can use, and a platform that doesn't bury a service because a rival owns the hardware.

Winner for most peopleSetup: Plug-in
$59.96 · View on Amazon

$79.9925% off

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Apple TV 4K (3rd generation, 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet)

Apple TV 4K (3rd generation, 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet)

The streamer to buy if you are already inside Apple's ecosystem and you want an Ethernet port, and the one to skip otherwise. It costs several times a Roku stick to show the same apps at the same resolution; what you are actually paying for is a fast interface with no promoted storefront and tight handoff with iPhones, HomeKit and AirPlay.

Winner for Apple householdsSetup: Plug-in
3
Roku Ultra

Roku Ultra

The Roku to buy when Wi-Fi is the bottleneck rather than the apps. It is a box, not a stick, and the reason to pay the difference is the wired Ethernet option — a 4K stream over a cable never buffers because somebody started a video call.

Best Roku if you need EthernetSetup: Plug-in
$99.00 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Roku Streaming Stick Plus

Roku Streaming Stick Plus

The cheapest way to put a clean, app-agnostic 4K interface on a TV. Roku's home screen is a grid of apps rather than a storefront for one retailer's video, which is exactly what you want when you've just canceled cable and you're juggling five services and a free-TV app.

Cheapest way to try RokuSetup: Plug-in
$47.00 · View on Amazon

$59.9922% off

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Winner for most peopleSetup: Plug-in

Roku Streaming Stick 4K

Our overall pick. It adds Dolby Vision to the Plus for a small step up in price, and it keeps the thing that actually matters on a cord-cut TV: a neutral app grid, a remote anyone in the house can use, and a platform that doesn't bury a service because a rival owns the hardware.

What we like

  • Dolby Vision and HDR10+ both published
  • Long-range Wi-Fi receiver — the fix for a TV at the far end of the house
  • Platform-neutral home screen; every app sits in the same grid

Trade-offs

  • No Ethernet port — if your Wi-Fi is the problem, this won't solve it
  • Costs roughly double the cheapest Fire TV stick
Installs byHDMI into the TV, USB or wall adapter for power
PowerUSB power adapter
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityLong-range dual-band Wi-Fi, HDMI output
Max resolution4K
HDRHDR10+ and Dolby Vision

Setup: Plug-in. HDMI plus power. No mounting, no cabling, and it moves to another TV in seconds.

Spec note. The listing is titled "Roku Streaming Stick 4K with Voice Remote - HDR10+ & Dolby Vision" and advertises a long-range wireless receiver. Roku does not publish a throughput figure.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Winner for Apple householdsSetup: Plug-in

Apple TV 4K (3rd generation, 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet)

The streamer to buy if you are already inside Apple's ecosystem and you want an Ethernet port, and the one to skip otherwise. It costs several times a Roku stick to show the same apps at the same resolution; what you are actually paying for is a fast interface with no promoted storefront and tight handoff with iPhones, HomeKit and AirPlay.

What we like

  • 128GB of storage and an Ethernet port published on this model
  • No retailer storefront on the home screen — the interface sells you nothing
  • AirPlay and Apple's own ecosystem features work without a second device

Trade-offs

  • Several times the price of a Roku or Fire TV stick for the same apps
  • Amazon stock is intermittent — Apple sells it direct, so there is often no live Amazon price
Installs byHDMI into the TV, mains power, optional Ethernet
PowerMains power lead
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityWi-Fi, Ethernet, HDMI output
Max resolution4K
Storage128GB
EthernetYes

Setup: Plug-in. HDMI and a power lead. The Ethernet port is optional, so nothing has to be cabled unless you want it wired.

Spec note. Listed as "Apple 2022 Apple TV 4K Wi-Fi + Ethernet with 128GB Storage (3rd Generation)". Storage and the Ethernet port are published in that title. Amazon reported this listing "Currently unavailable" with no price on 2026-10-13, which is why no number renders here.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 13, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best Roku if you need EthernetSetup: Plug-in

Roku Ultra

The Roku to buy when Wi-Fi is the bottleneck rather than the apps. It is a box, not a stick, and the reason to pay the difference is the wired Ethernet option — a 4K stream over a cable never buffers because somebody started a video call.

What we like

  • Roku's top-end player — the fastest in its line
  • Box form factor leaves room for ports a stick can't carry
  • Same platform-neutral Roku interface as the sticks

Trade-offs

  • Three to four times the price of a Fire TV Stick 4K Select
  • Pointless if you were never going to run a cable to the TV
Installs bySits in the TV cabinet; HDMI to the TV, wall power, optional Ethernet
PowerWall adapter
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityWi-Fi plus wired Ethernet, HDMI output
Form factorSet-top box

Setup: Plug-in. A set-top box on a shelf. Nothing is fixed to the building. Running an Ethernet cable to it is optional and is the only part that takes effort.

Spec note. Listed as "Roku Ultra, Ultimate Streaming Player - 4K Streaming Device for TV". Roku's product page positions the Ultra as its flagship; port specifics vary by production year, so we do not state a port list here.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Cheapest way to try RokuSetup: Plug-in

Roku Streaming Stick Plus

The cheapest way to put a clean, app-agnostic 4K interface on a TV. Roku's home screen is a grid of apps rather than a storefront for one retailer's video, which is exactly what you want when you've just canceled cable and you're juggling five services and a free-TV app.

What we like

  • 4K with HDR10+ at the lowest price in Roku's current stick line
  • Roku's home screen treats every app the same — no single service gets the whole first row
  • Voice remote in the box

Trade-offs

  • No Dolby Vision at this tier (the Streaming Stick 4K has it)
  • Roku's own free channel takes prominent screen real estate
Installs byHDMI into the TV, USB or wall adapter for power
PowerUSB power adapter
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityDual-band Wi-Fi, HDMI output
Max resolution4K
HDRHDR10+ (Dolby Vision not claimed)

Setup: Plug-in. It is an HDMI stick. Nothing is mounted, nothing is run through a wall, and swapping it between TVs takes ten seconds.

Spec note. The Amazon listing is titled "Roku Streaming Stick Plus with Voice Remote - 4K & HDR10+" — 4K and HDR10+ are published, Dolby Vision is not claimed at this tier.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

Price: the gap is the entire decision

Roku’s Streaming Stick 4K and Apple’s TV 4K are not competing on features, because at the level most people use a streamer they are the same product. They are competing on what you are prepared to pay for polish. The Apple box costs several times the Roku stick, and everything it does extra is a convenience rather than a capability.

If you are replacing cable across three or four televisions — which is the normal cord-cutting situation, not the exception — that multiple matters a great deal. Four Roku sticks cost less than one Apple TV. Four Apple TVs cost more than a year of the cable package you just left.

The home screen

This is the one place where the Apple box earns its premium without arguing. Apple’s interface is a grid of apps with no promoted content row from a retailer, because Apple is not trying to sell you its own catalog from the first screen in the way Amazon is. Roku’s is also a grid of apps, with Roku’s own free channel promoted in it — present, but not covering the top third of the display.

The practical difference between Roku and Apple here is small. The practical difference between either of them and Fire TV is not, which is the point we make at length on Roku vs Fire Stick. If “the home screen is a storefront” is the thing you are trying to escape, both of these boxes already solve it and the cheaper one solves it just as well.

Ethernet: the specification worth paying for

Neither Roku stick has an Ethernet port. The Apple TV 4K 128GB model does, and so does the Roku Ultra. If your television sits in a room with a network outlet, wiring a streamer is the single most reliable upgrade available to it — no interference, no sharing airtime, no renegotiating with the router every evening.

But notice what that means for this comparison: if Ethernet is your reason to buy the Apple box, Roku already sells one with an Ethernet port for considerably less. The Ultra is the honest alternative to the Apple TV for anyone whose real complaint is Wi-Fi. If the Wi-Fi itself is the problem rather than the port, a streamer is the wrong purchase entirely and a Wi-Fi extender or a mesh system is the fix.

Ecosystem: the real Apple argument

Apple’s case is not the box, it is everything the box is already connected to. AirPlay from an iPhone to the television works without configuring anything. HomeKit accessories appear on screen. A Mac mirrors to it. If three people in the house carry iPhones, the Apple TV is the member of the family that behaves correctly without being told to.

Roku’s equivalent is breadth rather than depth: it works identically whatever phone you carry, and the remote is the one a houseguest or a parent can operate without a tutorial. Neither approach is wrong. They are answers to different questions, and the question you are actually asking is usually obvious from what is in your pocket.

Storage, and why 128GB is not a reason to buy

The Apple listing publishes 128GB of storage, against Roku’s sticks which publish none. On a streaming device this is close to irrelevant: you are not storing video on it, you are storing apps. Unless you play a lot of Apple Arcade games on the television, the storage figure is a specification, not a benefit. Treat it the way you would treat a car’s cup-holder count.

What neither one does

Neither box receives over-the-air television. If part of your cord-cutting plan is getting your local ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX and PBS stations back, that is an antenna job and no streaming device of any price changes it — see local channels without cable for the two routes and what each costs. Neither box reduces your internet bill, and neither one makes a slow connection faster. The FCC puts a 4K stream at 25 Mbps and an HD stream at 5 to 8 Mbps; if you are not getting that in the room, the streamer is not the component to replace.

The verdict, stated plainly

Most cord-cutters should buy the Roku Streaming Stick 4K and spend the difference on an antenna or on fixing the Wi-Fi in the far bedroom. Apple households — and we mean households, not individuals — get real daily value from the Apple TV 4K and should buy it knowing exactly what the premium is for. Anyone whose complaint is a wireless streamer dropping out should look at the Roku Ultra before either.

Frequently asked questions

Is Apple TV worth it over a Roku?

For most people, no. The two show the same apps at the same resolution and neither charges a platform fee, so the Apple premium buys polish and ecosystem integration rather than capability. It is worth it if your household runs on iPhones and you use AirPlay or HomeKit regularly, or if you want a home screen with no retailer storefront on it and you prefer Apple's to Roku's.

Does the Apple TV 4K have an Ethernet port?

The 128GB model is listed as "Wi-Fi + Ethernet", so yes. The 64GB model is listed as Wi-Fi only. If a wired connection is your reason for buying, note that the Roku Ultra also has an Ethernet port and costs considerably less.

Do I need an Apple TV+ subscription to use an Apple TV?

No. Apple TV+ is a separate optional streaming service. The device works fully without it, and every third-party app — Netflix, Max, Disney+, YouTube, the free ad-supported services — runs on it with no Apple subscription of any kind.

Why is there no price on the Apple TV here?

Because Amazon published none when we checked the listing on October 13, 2026 — it reported the 128GB Wi-Fi + Ethernet model as currently unavailable. Apple sells this box direct and Amazon stocks it intermittently. Every price on this site comes from a live feed with a date attached, so when there is no live price we show "Check price on Amazon" rather than a number we cannot stand behind.

Which one is better for a non-technical person in the house?

Roku, by a clear margin. The remote has fewer buttons, the home screen is a fixed grid that does not rearrange itself, and the whole interface can be explained in one sentence. Apple's is also simple, but it assumes more familiarity with Apple conventions than a houseguest or a visiting parent necessarily has.

Is the 128GB of storage on the Apple TV useful?

Rarely. You store apps on a streaming device, not video, and apps are small. The storage figure matters if you play Apple Arcade games on the television; for watching things it is close to irrelevant.

Sources

  • FCC Consumer Guide — Broadband Speed Guide — The FCC's published per-activity minimums in Mbps: standard-definition video 3-4, HD video 5-8, Ultra HD 4K video 25, HD video teleconferencing 6, online multiplayer gaming 4, social media 1 (accessed October 7, 2026)
  • FCC Consumer Guide — Household Broadband Guide — The FCC's guide to sizing a household connection by the number of simultaneous users and the kind of activity each one is doing (accessed October 7, 2026)

Keep reading