Stick & Signal.

Wi-Fi Coverage

Best eero Mesh Wi-Fi System: Which Model to Buy

eero publishes a coverage figure and a plan-speed figure for every model, which makes this the easiest brand line-up on the site to choose from. Here is how the five compare.

By Stephen V.Updated How we pick

How this is funded: we earn a commission if you buy through our links, at no extra cost to you. It never changes which product we recommend, and we’ll tell you when we’d skip one. Full disclosure.

The eero 7 three-pack is the eero mesh Wi-Fi system to buy.Amazon publishes up to 6,000 sq ft of coverage and support for internet plans up to 2.5 Gbps for it — a third more floor area than any eero 6 generation claims, and it is Wi-Fi 7, so it will not be the part of your network you replace next. For a normal house with a normal internet plan, this is the one.

Buy the eero 6+ three-pack instead if the price gap matters to you. It publishes up to 4,500 sq ft, gigabit plan support and 75+ devices, which covers the overwhelming majority of homes and every cord-cutting use this site deals with. Wi-Fi 7 is genuine headroom rather than a fix for anything you can currently see.

The reason eero is worth a page of its own is that the brand publishes the two numbers that let you choose without guessing: how much area each system claims to cover, and how fast an internet plan it claims to support. Those are the manufacturer’s own figures, measured in conditions they chose — treat them as an optimistic ceiling, not a promise — but they are at least consistent across the range, which is more than most networking brands manage. Every spec row on this page comes from the Amazon listing it cites, and where eero publishes nothing we print Not published rather than estimate.

The picks at a glance

Ranked on how well each one fits the job, what it costs you every month, and how much work the install really is. Select a row to jump to the full write-up. We haven’t tested these — here is exactly what we do instead.

#ProductBest forSetupPrice
1
Amazon eero 7 Mesh System (3-pack)

Amazon eero 7 Mesh System (3-pack)

The sensible Wi-Fi 7 mesh. eero publishes the two numbers that matter — up to 6,000 sq ft and internet plans up to 2.5 Gbps — and that is more coverage than any Wi-Fi 6 mesh on this site claims, at a price that no longer counts as early-adopter tax. It is dual-band, which is the compromise that keeps it affordable.

Best eero overallSetup: Plug-in
$399.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

2
Amazon eero 6+ Mesh System (3-pack)

Amazon eero 6+ Mesh System (3-pack)

The mesh to buy if you want to set it up once and never think about it again. eero publishes exactly what it covers — 4,500 sq ft, gigabit plans, 75+ devices — and its setup is the least demanding of anything here.

Best value for a gigabit planSetup: Plug-in
$299.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

3
Amazon eero 6 Mesh System (3-pack)

Amazon eero 6 Mesh System (3-pack)

The version to buy if your internet plan is 500 Mbps or less — which is most plans. eero publishes the same 4,500 sq ft coverage as the 6+ but caps supported plan speed at 500 Mbps, and paying for gigabit capability you don't have is money burnt.

Best budget three-packSetup: Plug-in
$199.99 · View on Amazon

$249.9720% off

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

4
Amazon eero Pro 7 Mesh System (3-pack)

Amazon eero Pro 7 Mesh System (3-pack)

The most capable mesh on this site, and overkill for most houses. Tri-band means a third radio the nodes can keep for talking to each other, so the mesh stops competing with your own devices for airtime — which is exactly what you want if the nodes cannot be wired and the house is large. eero publishes 6,000 sq ft and plans up to 5 Gbps.

Best for a multi-gigabit planSetup: Plug-in
$799.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

5
Amazon eero 6+ Router (single)

Amazon eero 6+ Router (single)

One eero covering a published 1,500 sq ft — which makes it a router replacement for a flat, not a whole-house mesh. Buy it as a starting point you can add nodes to, and don't expect it to reach a second floor.

Best starting point for an apartmentSetup: Plug-in
$139.99 · View on Amazon

Price as of October 22, 2026. #ad How we’re funded

The picks in full

#1Best eero overallSetup: Plug-in

Amazon eero 7 Mesh System (3-pack)

The sensible Wi-Fi 7 mesh. eero publishes the two numbers that matter — up to 6,000 sq ft and internet plans up to 2.5 Gbps — and that is more coverage than any Wi-Fi 6 mesh on this site claims, at a price that no longer counts as early-adopter tax. It is dual-band, which is the compromise that keeps it affordable.

What we like

  • Published coverage of up to 6,000 sq ft across three nodes
  • Supports internet plans up to 2.5 Gbps per the listing
  • Wi-Fi 7, so it will not be the thing you replace next

Trade-offs

  • Dual-band — no dedicated 6GHz backhaul radio, unlike eero Pro 7
  • Wi-Fi 7 only pays off with Wi-Fi 7 client devices, which most households do not own yet
Installs byThree shelf units; one plugs into the modem by Ethernet
PowerMains adapter per node
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityDual-band Wi-Fi 7, Ethernet on each node
Nodes3
RadioWi-Fi 7, dual-band
Coverage (maker)Up to 6,000 sq ft
Plan speed (maker)Up to 2.5 Gbps

Setup: Plug-in. Shelf units and an Ethernet lead, app-guided. Nothing mounted or wired through a wall.

Spec note. Listing text: "Amazon eero 7 dual-band mesh Wi-Fi 7 router (newest model) - Supports internet plans up to 2.5 Gbps, Coverage up to 6,000 sq. ft., 3-pack." Both figures are Amazon's published claims.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#2Best value for a gigabit planSetup: Plug-in

Amazon eero 6+ Mesh System (3-pack)

The mesh to buy if you want to set it up once and never think about it again. eero publishes exactly what it covers — 4,500 sq ft, gigabit plans, 75+ devices — and its setup is the least demanding of anything here.

What we like

  • Published coverage of up to 4,500 sq ft across three nodes
  • Supports gigabit internet plans and 75+ connected devices per the listing
  • The simplest setup app in this group

Trade-offs

  • Advanced features sit behind an optional eero Plus subscription
  • Most expensive Wi-Fi 6 mesh here
Installs byThree shelf units; one plugs into the modem by Ethernet
PowerMains adapter per node
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityDual-band Wi-Fi 6, Ethernet on the gateway node
Nodes3
Coverage (maker)Up to 4,500 sq ft
Devices (maker)75+

Setup: Plug-in. Shelf units and an Ethernet lead. App-guided, nothing mounted.

Spec note. Listing text: "Supports internet plans up to a Gigabit, Coverage up to 4,500 sq. ft., Connect 75+ devices, 3-pack." All three figures are Amazon's published claims.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#3Best budget three-packSetup: Plug-in

Amazon eero 6 Mesh System (3-pack)

The version to buy if your internet plan is 500 Mbps or less — which is most plans. eero publishes the same 4,500 sq ft coverage as the 6+ but caps supported plan speed at 500 Mbps, and paying for gigabit capability you don't have is money burnt.

What we like

  • Same published 4,500 sq ft coverage as the pricier 6+
  • One router plus two extenders, stated on the listing
  • Cheaper than the 6+ for households that cannot use gigabit

Trade-offs

  • Published support stops at 500 Mbps plans
  • Not the one to buy if you upgrade to fiber next year
Installs byThree shelf units; the router node plugs into the modem
PowerMains adapter per node
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityDual-band Wi-Fi 6, Ethernet on the router node
Nodes3 (1 router + 2 extenders)
Plan support (maker)Up to 500 Mbps
Coverage (maker)Up to 4,500 sq ft

Setup: Plug-in. Three shelf units, one Ethernet lead, app setup.

Spec note. Listing text: "Supports internet plans up to 500 Mbps, Coverage up to 4,500 sq. ft., Connect 75+ devices, 3-pack (1 router + 2 extenders)."

Specs read from the product listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#4Best for a multi-gigabit planSetup: Plug-in

Amazon eero Pro 7 Mesh System (3-pack)

The most capable mesh on this site, and overkill for most houses. Tri-band means a third radio the nodes can keep for talking to each other, so the mesh stops competing with your own devices for airtime — which is exactly what you want if the nodes cannot be wired and the house is large. eero publishes 6,000 sq ft and plans up to 5 Gbps.

What we like

  • Tri-band, so there is a radio available for dedicated node-to-node backhaul
  • Published support for internet plans up to 5 Gbps
  • Published coverage of up to 6,000 sq ft across three nodes

Trade-offs

  • The most expensive thing on this site by a wide margin
  • Nothing about streaming or browsing needs 5 Gbps — this is headroom, not a fix
Installs byThree shelf units; one plugs into the modem by Ethernet
PowerMains adapter per node
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityTri-band Wi-Fi 7, Ethernet on each node
Nodes3
RadioWi-Fi 7, tri-band
Coverage (maker)Up to 6,000 sq ft
Plan speed (maker)Up to 5 Gbps

Setup: Plug-in. Shelf units and an Ethernet lead, app-guided. Nothing mounted.

Spec note. Listing text: "Amazon eero Pro 7 tri-band mesh Wi-Fi 7 router (newest model) - Supports internet plans up to 5 Gbps, Coverage up to 6,000 sq. ft., 3-pack." Both figures are Amazon's published claims.

Specs read from the product listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

#5Best starting point for an apartmentSetup: Plug-in

Amazon eero 6+ Router (single)

One eero covering a published 1,500 sq ft — which makes it a router replacement for a flat, not a whole-house mesh. Buy it as a starting point you can add nodes to, and don't expect it to reach a second floor.

What we like

  • Published 1,500 sq ft coverage from a single unit
  • Same gigabit support and 75+ device figure as the 3-pack
  • Cheapest way into the eero ecosystem

Trade-offs

  • One node is not a mesh — coverage is router-sized
  • Cost per square foot is worse than the 3-pack
Installs byShelf unit; Ethernet to the modem
PowerMains adapter
SubscriptionNot required
ConnectivityDual-band Wi-Fi 6, Ethernet
Nodes1
Coverage (maker)Up to 1,500 sq ft

Setup: Plug-in. One unit, one cable, app setup.

Spec note. Listing text: "Supports internet plans up to a Gigabit, Coverage up to 1,500 sq. ft., Connect 75+ devices, 1-pack."

Specs read from the product listing, on October 7, 2026. “Not published” means the brand does not state that figure.

How to choose between the eero models

Four decisions, in the order that actually narrows the list.

1. How fast is your internet plan?

This eliminates models faster than anything else, because eero publishes a plan ceiling per system. The eero 6 three-pack is published as supporting plans up to 500 Mbps. If you pay for gigabit, that system is the wrong purchase at any price — it will cap what you already pay for. The eero 6+ is published for gigabit, the eero 7 for up to 2.5 Gbps, and the eero Pro 7 for up to 5 Gbps.

Worth saying plainly: none of this is about streaming. The FCC puts Ultra HD 4K at 25 Mbps and HD at 5 to 8 Mbps per stream, so a 500 Mbps plan is already enormous headroom for television. Plan speed matters here only so you do not pay for bandwidth the mesh then refuses to pass.

2. How big is the house, and what shape?

Both eero 7 systems publish up to 6,000 sq ft; both eero 6 generations publish up to 4,500 sq ft. Those figures assume three nodes doing their best in open conditions, so halve your expectations through plaster, brick or a stairwell. The shape matters as much as the area: three nodes along a long single-story layout will struggle where the same three in a compact two-story house will not, because each hop has to reach the next.

3. Tri-band, or dual-band?

This is the only real hardware distinction in the range, and it is the eero Pro 7’s entire argument. A tri-band system keeps a third radio available for node-to-node traffic, so the mesh is not stealing airtime from your own devices to talk to itself. A dual-band system — eero 7, eero 6+, eero 6 — shares.

It matters when the nodes cannot be wired and the house is large enough that a node has to relay through another node. It matters very little in a two-story house where every node can hear the gateway directly. If you can run Ethernet to even one node, that does more for the system than paying for tri-band.

4. Three nodes, or start with one?

The eero 6+ single unit publishes up to 1,500 sq ft, which is an apartment or a small house, and it is the honest starting point if you are not sure. eero systems grow by adding nodes of the same family later — see our mesh node page for how that works and what it costs you in throughput.

What the eero Plus subscription does and does not do

Worth being clear about, because a subscription is the one thing this site treats as a red flag by default. Every eero system here works fully without paying anything beyond the hardware. The mesh, the app, the network, the hand-over between nodes, the guest network: all included.

eero Plus is an optional add-on covering security filtering, content blocking and some bundled third-party services. Nothing in the published listing text makes it required for the mesh to function, and we would not buy it as part of a cord-cutting build. If you want the network-security layer it offers, your router’s own firmware and the basic hygiene in our Wi-Fi guide— current firmware, unique passwords — cover most of the same ground for nothing. CISA’s home network guidance says much the same.

Where eero is the wrong choice

Three cases, stated honestly on a page whose job is to sell you an eero.

One weak room, everything else fine. A mesh system is the wrong tool and five times the price. Buy a single extender and place it halfway.

You want granular control.eero’s app is the simplest in the category because it hides things. If you want per-device VLANs, custom DNS per client or detailed firewall rules, a TP-Link Deco system or a conventional router will frustrate you less — compare on our mesh roundup, or go straight to the Deco line-up.

You are shopping Wi-Fi 7 across brands. The eero 7 and eero Pro 7 here are two of five Wi-Fi 7 systems on the site, and NETGEAR now publishes the same 6,000 sq ft figure for noticeably less. Our Wi-Fi 7 mesh roundup puts them side by side, with the honest note that no streaming household needs the generation at all.

The dead area is a detached building. No indoor mesh node crosses a yard reliably. That is a different product category entirely; see Wi-Fi for a detached garage.

A note on what we did and did not do

We have not tested these systems and we do not own them. Every figure on this page is read from the Amazon listing cited in each product entry, on the date shown, and labeled as the manufacturer’s claim. The rankings are our editorial judgment about fit — which system suits which house and which plan — argued from those published figures and from the FCC’s published bandwidth guidance. Our methodology page states exactly what that process is.

Frequently asked questions

Which eero mesh system should I buy?

The eero 7 three-pack for most homes: Amazon publishes up to 6,000 sq ft of coverage and support for plans up to 2.5 Gbps, and it is Wi-Fi 7. Choose the eero 6+ three-pack if the price gap matters — it publishes 4,500 sq ft and gigabit support, which covers most houses. Only consider the eero Pro 7 if you are on a multi-gigabit plan and cannot wire any of the nodes.

Does eero need a subscription to work?

No. The mesh, the app, device hand-over and the guest network all work with no fee. eero Plus is an optional add-on for security and content filtering, and nothing in the published listing text makes it necessary for the system to function.

What is the difference between eero 6 and eero 6+?

Published plan support. The eero 6 three-pack is listed as supporting internet plans up to 500 Mbps; the eero 6+ three-pack is listed for gigabit plans. Both publish up to 4,500 sq ft of coverage and 75+ devices. If you pay for gigabit internet, the eero 6 will cap it.

Is eero Pro 7 worth the extra money?

Only in a specific case: a large home where the nodes cannot be wired to each other, on a plan above about 2 Gbps. Tri-band means a third radio is available for node-to-node traffic rather than competing with your devices. In a compact house where every node can hear the gateway directly, you are paying for headroom you cannot use.

Can I add a single eero node to my existing system later?

Yes, and that is the normal way to grow one. A single eero node joins an existing eero system under the same network name. It will not join a Deco, Nest Wifi or any other brand's mesh — nodes only mesh within their own family.

Is eero coverage of 6,000 sq ft realistic?

Treat it as an optimistic ceiling rather than a measurement. It is Amazon's own published claim for three nodes under conditions they chose. Walls, floors and stairwells cut it substantially, and a long thin layout will do worse than a compact one of the same area. It is useful as a comparison between models, not as a guarantee for your house.

Sources

  • FCC Consumer Guide — Broadband Speed Guide — The FCC's published per-activity minimums in Mbps: standard-definition video 3-4, HD video 5-8, Ultra HD 4K video 25, HD video teleconferencing 6, online multiplayer gaming 4, social media 1 (accessed October 7, 2026)
  • FCC Consumer Guide — Household Broadband Guide — The FCC's guide to sizing a household connection by the number of simultaneous users and the kind of activity each one is doing (accessed October 7, 2026)
  • CISA — Home Network Security — CISA guidance on securing a home router and the connected devices behind it, including firmware updates and network segmentation (accessed October 7, 2026)

Keep reading